Anna Frost winner of the 2102 Transvulcania Ultra Marathon and record holder to defend her Title

In 2012, the ISF launched their first Ultra Series kicking off with the Transvulcania Ultra Marathon on a tiny speck in the Atlantic Ocean called La Palma. The race saw probably the deepest field of international running legends to date, and this year will be no exception when Transvulcania opens its doors to more than 1,600 runners in the first race of the Series.

Heading the bill will be Salomon super-stars Kilian Jornet, last year's winner and record holder Anna Frost and 2012 SWS Champion, Emelie Forsberg, at her first attempt here. The Salomon line-up includes 2010 winner Miguel Heras, Francois Haene (4th here and 2012 UTMB winner), Germany's Philipp Reiter (ranked 3rd SWS Ultra Series) and, from across the pond for a taste of European style skyrunning, Cameron Clayton.

The runners face a daunting 8,525m ascent and descent over the 83 km course.  It starts at sea level on the Atlantic coast and travels along the island’s backbone to the summit of the volcano at 2,423m before descending back to the sea and finishing in the town of Los Llanos where several thousand ecstatic supporters greet the runners.

We wish Anna well for the race - she is one incredible athlete. 

Anna is protecting her skin from the very harsh UV rays with Aloe Up For the Face and Pro Sport 50 and the Pro Sport Face Stick

Follow news and updates here and on Facebook and twitter. Race website


Anna Frost: W: Frostysfootsteps   Facebook and Twitter

September 17, 2018 by Aloe Up
previous / next